Streaming Guide, Reviews, Trailers

Normal People Limited Series will be on BBC Three at April 29, 2020.

Drama, Romance / TV-Series (2020)

Normal People is a 2018 novel by Sally Rooney. It was adapted into a 12-part drama television series developed by Element Pictures for BBC Three and Hulu starring Daisy Edgar-Jones as Marianne and Paul Mescal as Connell.

The series follows Marianne Sheridan and Connell Waldron through their time at secondary school in County Sligo on Ireland’s Atlantic coast, and later as undergraduate students at Trinity College Dublin. The focus is mainly Connell’s and Marianne’s complex relationship. Among her peers at secondary school, Marianne is regarded as an oddball, but she denies caring about her social standing.

Despite her academic achievements, her home life is complicated by her dismissive mother, Denise, and her resentful brother, Alan. Her father is deceased and is later revealed to have been a domestic abuser, though her family avoids mentioning him. Connell is an athletic, high-achieving student living with his single mother Lorraine, who is employed by Denise as a house cleaner. He is popular in school, though he remains silent while Marianne is constantly bullied. This creates complexity and point of contention as their relationship develops.

Directors: Lenny Abrahamson, Hettie Macdonald

Writers: Alice Birch, Mark O’Rowe, Sally Rooney

Stars: Daisy Edgar-Jones, Paul Mescal, Desmond Eastwood, Aislín McGuckin, Sarah Greene, Frank Blake, India Mullen, Eliot Salt


Daisy Edgar-Jones Marianne
Paul Mescal Connell
Desmond Eastwood Niall
Aislín McGuckin Denise
Sarah Greene Lorraine
Frank Blake Alan
India Mullen Peggy
Eliot Salt Joanna
Éanna Hardwicke Rob
Seán Doyle Eric
Fionn O’Shea Jamie
Clinton Liberty Kiernan
Niamh Lynch Karen
Meadhbh Maxwell Lisa
Killian Filan Jack
Leah McNamara Rachel
Aoife Hinds Helen
Liz Fitzgibbon Ms. Neary
Megan McDonnell Elaine
Kwaku Fortune Philip
Leah Minto Sadie
Slaney Power Sophie
Sebastian De Souza Gareth
Chris McHallem Lecturer
Domhnall Herdman Matt / …
Muiris Crowley Mr. Kerrigan
Lauryn Canny Teresa
Lancelot Ncube Lukas
Bláithín Mac Gabhann Evelyn
Conor Mullen Tom
Noma Dumezweni Gillian
Michael Phong Le Matt
Ciara Berkeley Student 1
Lucilla di Paolo Shopkeeper
Rachel Mariam Teaching Assistant 1
Barry O’Connor Jason
Lila Coleman Student 2
Tina Kellegher Trish
Aoibhinn McAuley Anna
Frank Smith Provost
Sean Duggan Matt
Gwynne McElveen Aunt Caitlin
Olga Wehrly Sarah
Denis Conway Gerald
Killian Coyle Pat
Eleanor Methven Bernie
Eileen Byrne Granny Rose
Darragh McKenzie Darragh
Claire O’Donovan Eileen
Anita Petry Seminar Leader
Michael Power Val
Carl Austin English Lecturer
Maya O’Shea Jenny
Jim Roche Bill
Fiona Browne Fiona
Abdelaziz Sanusi Eoin
Ross Gaynor Teaching Assistant 2
Una Carroll Exam Invigilator
Martina Babisova SARA
Darragh Byrne Rory
Elena Tully Funeral Morner


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *